Little Miami Junior High Blog

Lawson, Carmack named Project Excellence winners

Posted on: April 19, 2016

Kelly Lawson and Supt. Greg Power

Little Miami Superintendent Greg Power recently had the pleasure of surprising two district teachers with the news that they had been selected this year’s Area Progress Council’s Project Excellence award winners.

Little Miami Junior High teacher Kelly Lawson and Harlan-Butlerville second grade teacher Tonya Carmack were selected by the council as this year’s honorees.

“As happens every year, Little Miami has many outstanding staff nominated, and this was the case again this year with over 30 of our staff nominated by parents, students, and fellow staff,” Power said.

“We know we have great staff, and every year the process to select our winning representatives is challenging. It’s another example of what’s great about our Little Miami learning community.”

Supt. Power and Tonya Carmack

Students and families submit entries to the Area Progress Council to nominate their favorite teacher for the award. There were 31 submissions from Little Miami, more than other districts in Warren County.

Power stopped by each teacher’s classroom and surprised them with the information. Both of these outstanding educators will be formally recognized at an awards dinner May 4 at the Warren County Career Center.

The Area Progress Council is a non-profit foundation made possible by the volunteer efforts of business leaders who are interested in the quality of public education in Warren County. The Project Excellence Committee aims to identify exceptional educators who demonstrate excellence in instruction or innovative teachers who have pioneered a teaching method. 

Previous Little Miami honorees are Heather Hebrank, Scott Hammann, Mark LaPille, Julie Thompson, Stephanie Grieshop and Amber Huber.